Coach's Column
A big weekend of Rugby lies ahead. All 3 Vodacom WP teams (U19, U21 and Snr) remain unbeaten, but this week it’s traditional rivals the Vodacom Blue Bulls that travel to face us in the North v South clash.

The Blue Bulls are the defending champs and there is no doubt that they travel to Cape Town fired up for an away win.

Province continue to grow and mature as a unit. Coming off a good away win in Kimberley last week and undefeated this season, each and every player knows that this week’s task is a massive one. Feet are firmly on the ground and our focus has been solely on this match and our opposition. We would dearly like to protect our home turf and to give the faithful something to cheer about!

With Juan, Gio and Flo back with the Boks, we have prepared with Fabien and Tim in at 14 and 13, whilst Koster is promoted into the starting line-up at 7 after a good game last week. Wicus regains the number 1 jersey from JD who provides cover on the bench.

As always we expect a massive physical battle upfront and Matt Proudfoot has been hard at work with the pack. There is absolutely no problem with motivation as many of our players tasted the bitterness of defeat to the Bulls in the Super 14 final in Soweto. It’s a big challenge – certainly our biggest of the competition to date, but we are focussed and ready and will certainly to a man be giving it all!

A massive crowd is expected at Newlands and we know the faithful will lift us and give us that extra little edge. Thanks for your awesome support – it is humbling.

See you at Newlands.

WP Jou Lekker Ding

Allister Coetzee



Vodacom WP coach Allister Coetzee today announced his team to take on the Vodacom Blue Bulls at Newlands on Saturday 14 August 2010. Kick-off is at 17h05.

The Vodacom WP u19 and u21’s take on their Blue Bulls counterparts in two curtain raiser games at 13h00 and 14h45 respectively.

Tickets to Saturday’s game are selling fast, with limited seating and standing room tickets still available. Tickets are available from Computicket, Shoprite Checkers and Checkers Hyperstores nationwide as well as the Newlands Ticket office. Tickets can also be purchased via the Computicket Credit Card booking line on 083 915 8000 or on

The team is as follows:

15. Conrad Jantjes
14. Fabian Juries
13. Tim Whitehead
12. Paul Bosch
11. Frikkie Welsh
10. Willem de Waal
9. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Francois Louw/Nick Koster
6. Pieter Louw
5. Anton van Zyl (Captain)
4. Adriaan Fondse
3. Brok Harris
2. Tiaan Liebenberg
1. Wicus Blaauw

16. Deon Fourie
17. JD Moller
18. Buhle Mxunyelwa
19. De Kock Steenkamp
20. Nick Koster/Pieter Myburgh
21. Conrad Hoffmann
22. Lionel Cronje


Add to Twitter Add to Facebook