National Sevens Tournament being held at Florida Park
The Western Province Rugby Football Union, in conjunction with the South African Rugby Union, will be hosting the National Men and Women’s Sevens Tournament in Cape Town (Florida Park, Ravensmead) on Friday 5 November 2010 and Saturday 6 November 2010. Matches run from 09h00 – 19h00 on the Friday and from 09h00 – 14h30 on the Saturday. Gate fee is R10 for Adults and R5 for scholars.
The tournament showcases the best sevens rugby players in the country. Sixteen men and eighteen women’s Provincial teams will be participating, with the total number of players being in the region of 512 and approximately 84 matches taking place over the two days.
Sevens Rugby has gained wide acceptance in today’s game as a result of the exciting brand of rugby and individual skills it brings to the fore in young talented players. It is a nursery for provincial and national 15 man teams.
The teams participating in the two day tournament are:
MEN                                                                WOMEN
1.         Blue Bulls                                             1.  Blue Bulls
2.         Boland                                                  2.  Boland
3.         Border                                                   3.  Border
4.         Eastern Province                                    4.  Eastern Province
5.         Falcons                                                 5.  Falcons
6.         Free State                                             6.  Free State
7.         Golden Lions                                         7.  Golden Lions
8.         Griffons                                                 8.  Griffons
9.         Griquas                                                 9.  Griquas
10.       Kwa-Zulu Natal                                     10. Kwa-Zulu Natal
11.       Leopards                                             11. Leopards
12.       Mpumalanga                                        12. Mpumalanga
13.      SWD                                                   13. SWD
14.       Vodacom WP                                      14. Vodacom WP
15.       Limpopo Bulls                                      15. Limpopo Bulls
16.       Lowveld                                               16. Border B
                                                                      17. Correctional Services
                                                                      18. SANDF

Add to Twitter Add to Facebook